North Sea Oil Rig Workers

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndyE

Registered
Reaction score
Hi there. I have a character who is trying to pass himself off as a worker on a North Sea oil rig in the early to mid 80s. What kind of questions might somebody ask to determine if he knows what he is talking about?

Bufty

Where have the last ten years gone?
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert on Oil Rig workers, but does the story take place in the early to mid 1980s?

A 'worker' of what sort?

What's he talking about or claiming to know about?

Is he seeking employment?

Last edited:

AndyE

Registered
Reaction score
Yup, mid 80s. No, he's not seeking a job. He's pretending he already works on a rig, as a cook. All I need is a few technical questions that anyone working on a particular rig would know the answer to (like, for example, how many barrels of oil do you produce in an average week?) Just looking for two or three similar questions.

Last edited:

Al X.

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.authoralexryan.com
I'm going to guess a cook isn't going to be technically savvy about the operations of the rig, but would be expected to know safety and evacuation procedures and will participate in regular drills.

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
You look for what is common job knowledge. In the case of a cook, he might not even know how many barrels the rig produces. What he will know:

-- How does he get to and from the rig? Copter, boat, point of departure? Complications like weather?

-- What's his schedule? For example, two months on and one month off?

-- How many meals does he prepare a day? Does he cover the entire 24 hours shift or are there two cooks?

-- How do supplies arrive and how frequently? What's the cover plan for bad weather when transport can't make it on schedule?

-- Equipment? Size and capacity of refrigerator/freezer?

-- Workers access to kitchen and food?