Hello

Thurpa

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, I've just joined. I live in Australia. I'm a long time hobbyist writer and recently felt a desire to communicate with others who also write, so here I am. I'm not after massive book sales but I'd quite like to publish something that I'm proud of. I'm a mortician and funeral worker. That probably comes as no surprise to anyone, half the morticians I know are prospective or published authors.

Using regdog's suggestions:

What genres do you write?

I love to experiment and try something new. I've had a go at almost everything and I'm really bad at keeping a piece of work inside one genre. Or maybe I can't identify my genre. I'm currently focusing on something that I thought was scifi until I read some definitions of scifi. Now I'm not sure. It might be psychological drama set in space? Possibly space opera but not quite. I've also written Westerns, Regency romance, fantasy, historical fiction and animal stories at novel length. Oh, and boarding school stories. Plus I have a spasmodic but well received family history/local history blog. In the long distant past I had five short stories published in magazines. Then I had children and stopped doing that.

I have a preference for novel length. My current story world is so much fun that I stayed with it and I'm now writing the fourth book. The first three are not a trilogy, it's just an ongoing series. I never intended this one for publication, it's pure escapism. But I've now tidied it up and a few friends plus their friends are reading it and giving me good feedback. So maybe I'll self publish the series just to get it out there, down the track.

What do you like to read?