• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

is not using dialogue tags wrong?

skylessbird2218

I Don't Bite...
Registered
Reaction score
I am pretty new to writing. however, I am starting to notice a sort of habit across my writings; I rarely use any dialogue tags at all(neither, said, nor exclaimed, or ejaculated...nothing). most of the time I just use the action the character does, then the dialogue. example, 'he looked up at the sky, "it's going to rain today.'"- well not exactly like that, but mostly. is that bad habit? should I try to introduce more dialogue tags?

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I am pretty new to writing. however, I am starting to notice a sort of habit across my writings; I rarely use any dialogue tags at all(neither, said, nor exclaimed, or ejaculated...nothing). most of the time I just use the action the character does, then the dialogue. example, 'he looked up at the sky, "it's going to rain today.'"- well not exactly like that, but mostly. is that bad habit? should I try to introduce more dialogue tags?

First, that doesn't take a comma, as it's not a tag.

Second, there's not a rule, Whatever works. In general, though obviously I haven't seen any of your thing, I think anything besides a general said-type tag that is overdone gets noticeable. If every line of dialogue is attached to an action line, I'd find that maddening and twitchy, and likely falling into stage direction territory. There's nothing wrong with SOME action lines, but too much of anything that's not basically invisible tends to wear on a reader.

Ari Meermans

MacAllister's Official Minion & Greeter
Registered
Reaction score