Tenses in first-person past POV

Kat M

Ooh, look! String!
Registered
Reaction score
Well, if I'm writing in first-person past, then it's past tense, right? Right? This should be easy . . . :Headbang:

Here's the scoop: my POV character is telling a story that happened in the past, and part of that includes describing people's habits, skills, characteristics, etc. which is where the tense is tripping me up. For example:

He could do a pretty good cow impression when he got thoughtful.

I don't know whether to use the past tense (the slow chewing incident is occurring in the past) or present tense (the character is still alive by the end of the story and presumably hasn't changed up his mastication habits).

I suspect this is less of a grammar rules case and more of a storytelling craft issue, but I'm new to first POV and lost. Any words of wisdom?

You are magical people and I thank you in advance.

MaeZe

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
"Got" isn't the right verb, regardless.

To get is to acquire.
It's not the same as to become.

Do you have a different example or is that a sentence you are trying to use?

Last edited:

Stytch

Registered
Reaction score
So, you may be overthinking this? If it's in past tense, it's all in past tense, probably. There you can make exceptions in individual verbs that might be not in past tense form, but the sentence as a whole has to be clearly past tense. "Yesterday, when I WAS (past tense) walking (present)" but that's also a horrible example because it's passive, I think. "He stood up slowly, wiping his hands on his pants" might be a better example.