Should I say goodbye?

1sa1ahsMum

Registered
Reaction score
I am relatively new in this writing game. I am querying my Christian Women fiction that deals with a past sex worker.

Blurb:Nifemi is a Christian therapist with a secret; she was once a sex worker. A secret she has “forgotten” to tell her fiance; a secret his guilt-burdened friend, who just happens to be her “ex-owner”, is desperate to reveal.

I just received my 20th query rejection with a lot of "Great writing, great premise but I don't think I can sell it/not a right fit for my agency" and I am getting a little disillusioned as to wether I can sell this to CBA. While I query, I am working on my new WIP; the story of a girl who survives sexual abuse within the church. Although my work is strong, I'm wondering if the market just isn't right for me; I have absolutely 0 interest in self publishing. The main reason I don't want to leave CBA is that there are tons of people who are looking to the "church" for answers and stories that resemble the hard issues they are going through. It can't be all amish love and southern belles! Another reason is that going mainstream will most likely mean toning down the faith aspects of my story.

What to do?

Woollybear

Registered
Reaction score
What is CBA?

(And what is a Christian therapist?)

If the rejections came after requests for the manuscript, then it might be the writing, despite feeling that your writing is strong. If the rejections came based on the blurb and opening pages alone, it might be the blurb. There isn't much to go on, in that blurb, as far as character, and it raises a lot of questions (like why the friend is guilt-burdened).

It's a long game, as you pointed out elsewhere...

Last edited:

Calla Lily

On hiatus
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.aliceloweecey.net
Agreed that the premise of both books will be a hard sell to C-fic agents and publishers. Hard, but not necessarily impossible.