Form Rejections vs. Personalized Rejections

benacrow

Registered
Reaction score
I've been sending queries out to agents for the past several months and have received numerous rejections thus far (30+, many more pending). While actually hearing a response is a welcome respite from the job market (lucky to hear 1 response out of hundreds of applications), I'm not sure if the responses I'm receiving are actually tailored responses, or just flattering form rejections.

I've done some research on form rejections, but couldn't quite seem to find the generic response, so I figured I'd share the gist of what I've been hearing and see if others have had similar responses.

The majority of agent responses to my queries (YA fantasy) have been one of these two: 'Unfortunately, this is not the best fit for my list at this time' and 'I don't feel I'm the right agent for this project'.

At first, these responses didn't seem to be as generic as I was thinking, but after multiples of similar responses, I'm beginning to think otherwise.

Maggie Maxwell

Making Einstein cry since 1994
Registered
Reaction score
Website
thewanderingquille.blogspot.com
Those sound like forms to me. Personalized should say things specifically related to your story, such as "While I like Carol's characterization and the drama between her and Steve, the overall plot isn't grabbing me." or "The beginning spends too much time talking about Carol's history to push me to read further." They'll be, well, personalized to your story.

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
They are form rejections. Personalised ones mention specific things about your work.

benacrow

Registered
Reaction score