is it considered a romance if the characters are already married at the start?

The Second Moon

Registered
Reaction score
Website
mimistromauthor.com
I've never written romance before so pardon the newbie-ness of my question, but is it considered a romance if the characters have already been married for a few years when the story starts?

BTW, I know the definition of romance is that the characters are together by the end, but what if they were already together?

BenPanced

THE BLUEBERRY QUEEN OF HADES (he/him)
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
No, not really. The main draw of romance are the standard tropes: boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy gets girl in the end. You'd be ignoring a major chunk of what readers look for in the story: the meet-up, the pursuit, the angst/self-doubt/worry it'll never work, one of them finally says "I love you" for the first time. If they're already together, calling it a romance wouldn't work; maybe it'd be a story with romantic undertones but not a romance by standard definition.

The Second Moon

Registered
Reaction score
Website
mimistromauthor.com
Actually I didn't want it to be a romance because one of the two main characters is a vampire and vampire romances seem like the thing people groan "not again" at . Thanks for the info.

KBooks

Registered
Reaction score
I've never written romance before so pardon the newbie-ness of my question, but is it considered a romance if the characters have already been married for a few years when the story starts?

BTW, I know the definition of romance is that the characters are together by the end, but what if they were already together?