What software can you not do without?

Status
Not open for further replies.

InkFingers

Emperor of the Nothing
Registered
Reaction score
Maybe I'm in the wrong place, maybe not. Feel free to move if so.
I'm curious. What software do you regularly use for your writing, and are there specific reasons why?

I use LibreOffice primarily for writing. I'm often offline so it works better for me than things like Google Docs. It's free and cross platform. I switch between a few operating systems and LO is available and works well everywhere.

I just grabbed the demo for Scrivener, and we'll see. I've used yWriter before, but it sometimes is just a distraction. I'm a quilting writer, and fairly disorganized to the outside eye; so I haven't had a real need for that aspect. But, maybe I'll be surprised.

Now, you! Yes, you... Speak up now.

;)

Take care

Kat M

Ooh, look! String!
Registered
Reaction score
Well . . . after my computer was stolen, along with a draft I was very excited about, I switched to Google Docs, but if you're offline that's not a great solution. (Insert PSA: Save Often, Sweetie. Back up your work in a separate place from wherever you put your computer.) I love it because I can access it from any computer.

I haven't tried Scrivener (I've heard it's really good, please update and tell us what you think), I also know that I prefer to have complete control over organization and create my own documents instead of using a program to organize things. On the other hand, I'm also a hot mess.

I sometimes use TextEdit (the Mac's basic word processor) because I appreciate how non-frilly it is. I can't spend a lot of procrastination time messing with formatting.

In college I experienced a lot of compatibility issues with LibreOffice (yes, even when I saved as a .docx) and I sometimes couldn't read professors' comments if they'd used Track Changes or something. For that reason I'm considering investing in Word when it comes time to query.