Self-pubbed and regret it. Can I still query??

Monnrella

Toward empowering teen girls.
Registered
Reaction score
A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away
Hey guys,

I gave up on the dream of representation and self-published my novel last December. I'm not against self-pub at all or anything, but it's just not the path I ever wanted to take with this book. I haven't had a ton of sales -- I've barely promoted it -- but I think it's a really good book and I've really come to regret self-pubbing over time. Is it still possible to query it, or have I definitively shot myself in the foot? I worked on this book for nearly two decades. I hate that I gave up the dream I've had since I was a little kid. :(

Thank you so much for any help and advice you can offer!
~Monnrella

EvilPenguin

Registered
Reaction score
I am not an expert on this situation, but from what I've heard and seen, it is very unlikely that an agent will want to represent a book that you've already self-published. Something to do with the first rights publication thing. And even if an agent will represent you, then it's even less likely that a publishing house will want to take on something that's already been in print. That is, unless that book has been a major success and the agent and publisher know they can still make money on it.

That being said, you can definitely still give it a try, but you'll need to be honest that you self-published the book already.

I know it sucks when things don't go the way you've planned, especially on something you've dedicated a lot of time on, but have you considered moving on to a new book? Try writing something fresh and seek traditional publication with that? (I know this isn't what you want to hear, but I've learned the hard way that sometimes you just have to let a story go and move on to a new one.)

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Hey guys,