A daft question for Americans about biscuits

zclesa

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bethburgess.co.uk
I'm a writer from the UK. I'm in the middle of a short story and was writing something about biscuits (i.e. "cookies").

I got me thinking of how many British words do not translate to American English.

Since we have imported a lot of American culture (from TV shows to bands and literature), all Brits know that what we call "biscuits", Americans know as "cookies". And what Americans refer to as "biscuits", the Brits would likely call "scones".

I was wondering how much British lingo the average American actually knows. Would you get confused if I wrote about someone talking about biscuits in a British setting? Do you know the words "daft" or "chippy"? Would you know that "benefits" are what you call "welfare checks" or "social security"?

Are you as aware of British cultural references as we are of American ones? Can you name our past 5 prime ministers?

And if these things are a source of confusion, should I alter my language and/or setting when submitting to US magazines?

Ta. (Thank you). Ta-ra. (Bye-for-now)

Marissa D

Scribe of the girls in the basement
Registered
Reaction score
New England but hankering for the old one
Website
www.marissadoyle.com
If you're submitting to US magazines, I think you'd be best off Americanizing your vocabulary as much as possible. I know a fair amount of British usage, but wasn't aware of your example re "benefits"--in the US, benefits are part of one's employment package beyond salary (insurances, vacation, etc.) If you change your setting from a UK to a US one, though, make sure that you catch all the "biscuits", so to speak--the words that you don't know have a different meaning; have an American or two read it for you. We don't know what we don't know, after all.

zclesa

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bethburgess.co.uk