• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

Where's the fairy plotmother at?

SciSarahTops

late cretaceous
Registered
Reaction score
Reading about writing... less of the actual writin
Need her help to fix stuff...

So how do you guys rework/scramble/patch-up/pimp your plotlines when she's no-where to be found?
In need of inspiration... tell me about your methods...

cdd331d6c04c622cfd0feec2d0b36294--booth-ideas-the-very.jpg

Woollybear

Registered
Reaction score
My method is to copy the chapter(s) that need overhauling into a new document. Magically, I don't mind ripping it apart and patching it back the way it needs to be, if it is in a new document separate from the saved full manuscript.

Lakey

professional dilettante
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
So, I'm a newbie, so you can take this for what it's worth - which is precious little. When I've felt that the plot of my current (and first) novel wasn't sharp enough, there have been three avenues of thought that have both been really productive for me and have led to great improvements in the story.

The first is to up the stakes. Look for ways to set things up so that your character has more to lose. For instance, I went from a character risking damage to a cushy life in her wealthy parents' home to instead risking damage to a job she likes and needs, damage to her family's generations-old reputation, and the alienation of her entire circle of friends (this is more of an essential social lifeline than it might sound; it's 1951, and she's gay).