• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Pseudonym?

CaliforniaMelanie

Registered
Reaction score
I did a search and came up with nine bajillion results, so I'm asking here.

Who here uses a pseudonym, and what are your reasons?

I'm considering it for privacy, but that may be paranoid of me... :D So I'm wondering about others' motivations and how they handle this.

eqb

I write novels
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.claireodell.com
I published five books under my IRL name, but I switched to a pen name this year for a couple reasons--partly because the latest books are different from my earlier ones, partly because the pen name is easier to spell and pronounce.

kmarcks

Registered
Reaction score
I do. I am a registered nurse and some of the subject matter I've dealt with, while not explicitly sexual, might embarrass my employer. They know that I write and I have mentioned some of what I have written but I have no idea if my boss has ever read any of it.

DancingMaenid

New kid...seven years ago!
Registered
Reaction score
I use them right now for a couple reasons:

1. While I'm not actively writing it right now, I have written erotica in the past, and using a pseudonym for erotica is extremely common. I really don't need my family and co-workers to associate me with that.

2. I use a separate pseudonym for my non-erotic writing right now because I'm really private and feel weird about being easily google-able. I have a unique name, and don't particularly want random strangers to be finding out exactly where I work, or trying to friend my personal Facebook page. I'm not invested in making sure that no one connects me to my writing, and I know that a determined person could probably make the connection, but for now I think I'd rather keep a layer of privacy in place.

MontyBurr

Registered
Reaction score
I use my pen name because food plays a big part in my plots.