How to get good at grammar and syntax

LesFewer

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not very good at grammar and syntax which is a problem if you want to be a writer.

I've taken the grammar course at Khan Academy https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/grammar

I was impressed at the quality of the course but I think it's aimed at noobs. This taught me that I suffer from "comma splices."

I've taken published works by famous authors, stripped out all of the punctuation and then tested myself by putting it back in and checking it against the original. This was less helpful than I thought it would be.

So that's were I am now.

At some point I'm going to have to vary the length and format my sentences so that readers aren't bored, and I'll need a good grasp of the language for that. Right now I don't have the confidence to do that so most of my sentences are simple, once in a while I'll use a compound.

If there's some online grammar and punctuation tests, I think that would help. I found one or two small ones.

Anyone know where I can find more online tests? Or maybe some advice on how to learn punctuation?

Last edited:

AW Admin

Administrator
Registered
Reaction score
The best thing you can do is read. Read widely. Read "literature" and read "crap." Read fiction and non-fiction and poetry and cereal boxes.

Learn to look closely at what you read. Listen to audio books.

Get a good unabridged dictionary (I like the American Heritage Dictionary, personally, for American English) and any basic grammar handbook. I like those by Diana Hacker, but there are lots of good options, like the Little Brown Handbook. A used one is fine. You're going to use the handbook to look up questions you have.

Taking tests isn't going to help much after the first one or two.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score