Favorite magical/whimsical elements in kid's books

CheG

Registered
Reaction score
Website
chegilson.blogspot.com
Just for fun! Lets discuss!

What are your favorite magical/whimsical elements?

I asked this on FB and one friends said talking animals :) I like witches and cool magic. I love magical creatures, the more inventive the better. But I realized that I never write them in to my books! So I want to remedy that :)

shadowsminder

writing in the shadows
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shadowsinmind.carrd.co
Has no one answer, or can I not see the responses?

As a parent who reads to my child, my favorite fantastical beings are helpful witches and silly dragons. My kid likes these, too.

I'm writing a PB about a dragon now. I have written a witchy MG short story I don't where to send. (I usually write for adults.) Because I'm new to writing for kids, I wonder if the popularity of character types moves in trends.

frimble3

Heckuva good sport
Registered
Reaction score
The horse without a head...

(different generation :tongue)
Paul Berna's 'The Horse Without A Head'? Loved that story!
Kid detectives!

I also have a fondness for dolls and toys that live their own little lives in dollhouses, etc.
And talking cats. Not talking dogs, or talking horses, just cats.

Last edited:

shadowsminder

writing in the shadows
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shadowsinmind.carrd.co
fae foods that need to be salted before humans can eat it

There's a trick to eating fae foods? That's valuable info!

Someone once suggested that Hogwarts students with food allergies would have only safe foods appear in front of their seats. I love that idea.

That's different than eating from an unsalted fairy buffet only to be trapped forever for the act. It's just that your post reminded me.

I also have a fondness for dolls and toys that live their own little lives in dollhouses, etc.
And talking cats. Not talking dogs, or talking horses, just cats.