Hi there,

softmanifest

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to this site, and it seems appropriate to introduce myself.

I'm Juniper.
Artist, musician, and writer respectively.
I have been these things all my life, starting as a child in writing contests, classical music lessons, and always crafting some contraption or creating drawings. I have a degree in Fine Arts, and outside of the daily grind I work as a jeweler and painter.
As a child/young adult, I won few awards for my work in writing.
Though this didn't mean much to me at the time (I've usually always considered writing to be the least of my talents - perhaps for the unique aspect of vulnerability it asks of me, that I've not always been a fan of sharing), it has in the last few years, upon reflection, encouraged my actions as a writer and given me a renewed confidence.
Self doubt is such a creative buzz kill.

Anyway, I write mostly poetry and short stories.
Poetry tends to lean towards self reflection, existentialism, and general meaning-of-life type topics.
My short story endeavors are more horror, psychological, or tortured internal monologue -ish.

I hate using proper punctuation, probably my biggest downfall. And sometimes trying to use complete sentences bothers the hell out of me. Hah. I'm sure you
can tell by now. But I try to use it to my advantage, since I tend to enjoy reading/writing stream of consciousness stylistically.
I'm very open to critique and help with developing this style of writing!

Speaking of, I'm currently reading my way through the works of Virginia Woolf.
Also revisiting some classics that I haven't read since high school - Jane Eyre at the moment.

Ah, this is getting long so I'll go now! Also if anyone has author suggestions (especially ones specializing in stream of consciousness)
I would greatly appreciate it!

I'm excited to be here and look forward to reading and learning a lot from this rich community!

Denevius

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score