Social Media Addiction, Stupidity, and Psychology Behind It.

Vida Paradox

Code Surfer
Registered
Reaction score
All right everyone! Vida here!

First of all: Deep Breath, Calm. We are going to look at this in the most Logical Fashion as possible. We are not attacking any person, franchise, social media, or anything like that. We are just analyzing an interesting subject that may bring light into certain subjects.

Second of all, I am NOT a professional. This is all just a hypothesis accumulated from different sources all over the web. This is not a clear and cut fact.

Third of all, I apologize if any of you feel attacked by my words or hypothesis. I will try my best to use as little opinion and unbiased view in this thread.

With all that said: Let's see what my crazy mind cooked up shall we?

(Buckle up, this is a long one) There's a summary in the bottom though.

This thought came to me as I was playing a game. (Bear with me, we'll get to Social Media soon). This game is pretty simple with different common mechanics. There's collectibles, achievements, secrets, and some Easter Eggs. As I played this game, it also gives me a completion bar on my save file. Just finishing it, only gives about 50%. Collect everything and you will get 100%.

Everything

And I did, I played this game for hours straight, looking for secrets, browsing through walk-through, and sitting through a lot of Youtube videos. All just to get those sweet numbers up all the way to 100%. All just to find all the hidden secret Easter Eggs, to find all the collectibles, to get all those Achievement.

When I did, I was feeling very satisfied for about 20 seconds before that little voice of reason suddenly said. (What exactly have you accomplished?)