I just got asked about terms

efreysson

Closer than ever
Registered
Reaction score
I've been self-publishing for several years now, to no real success.

Now through a quirk of fate a short story of mine has gained some attention in Romania, and the magazine editor is attempting to set me up with publishers in his homeland. It's still way, way too early for any kind of celebration, but he asked me what my terms would be for a Romanian paperback release of my four-novel series. I had no reply, as I'm not involved with the publishing industry, and I really wasn't expecting even a slim chance to happen any time soon.

Isn't there some relatively standard deal an author can ask for? I'll be happy to just get "standard".

cool pop

It's Cool, Miss Pop if You're Nasty
Registered
Reaction score
No, there is no standard deal. What you do is get the publishing contract and if you have no experience with contracts nor an agent, you get a literary attorney to look over it. If you can't do that then you can join a writers organization, pay a membership fee and get help that way. Most organizations will do contract reads for their members. Other than that, I don't know. You can see if some lawyer or an agent here at AW or another publishing expert who knows contracts is willing to look it over. You can also contact Victoria Strauss.

I don't know who you can contact about Romanian law or whatever. I'm just going by US options that are available for all authors.

As for publishers, if this editor is experienced they should not be asking you for terms. Publishers set the terms. It doesn't matter what the writer thinks. This sounds off to me but I don't know...good luck. I guess. Be careful that this isn't some kickback operation where this editor is paid to deliver unsuspecting writers to dodgy publishers.