illustrating story books??

jawnn

Registered
Reaction score
Website
nhojyesdnil.wordpress.com
[FONT=Trebuchet MS, sans-serif]Whenillustrating a story just how important is it to find or even make asegment that is not described with words? And do editors actuallywork with the writer to leave out or even remove enough descriptionfor the artist to do the job of describing?[/FONT]

sissybaby

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, Jawnn.

Since I'm a writer and definitely NOT an illustrator, nor an editor, I can only give my opinion from my own perspective. However, I believe knowledgeable editors will certainly see the big picture and, if necessary, eliminate redundant text from the story.

Some writers simply write the story that comes into their heads, but others will actually envision the pages as the story progresses, and can write the story around the illustrations. Does that make sense? For example: The text might say (and this is just a silly what if) "Don't worry. The cat can't see us from here." But the illustrations could show us a completely different tale developing. If the writer has tried to put all of that in, then I believe the editor would discuss with him/her the possibilities of cutting. Perhaps I'm reading more into your question than you needed. If so, sorry.

Tazlima

Registered
Reaction score
I'm as yet unpublished in the PB department, so take this with a grain of salt, but I've read a lot on the subject, so I'll share what I've gleaned. (If more experienced authors find errors in what I have to say, please feel free to correct me).

So first off, there are three basic ways you could get paired up with an author.

1) An author hires you directly to illustrate a book they intend to self-publish. They're essentially your employer.

- In this scenario, all bets are off. They could give you lots of leeway or micromanage until you want to scream. You'd have to work that out between the two of you.