How to politely decline a publishing house?

SaraMay

Registered
Reaction score
First off, apologies if this is in the wrong forum. Long story short, a small publishing house asked for a full on my MS. Got feedback from one of the editors saying they read and liked it and have passed it onto the other editors to make a final decision. After doing some more research on this house, I’ve decided that we wouldn’t be a good fit for each other. How do I go about sending an email explaining this? I would rather tell them now and not waste their time.
Would “I am glad to hear that you enjoyed my work. Unfortunately, the title is no longer available. I would like
it to be removed for consideration. Thank you for your time, MY NAME” suffice as a message? I’m not good at sending business emails and I can’t find anything on google that can help me.

Enlightened

Always Learning
Registered
Reaction score
I won't respond, because I am new to this field. It may help others answer if they now you have an agent or not.

lizmonster

Possibly A Mermaid Queen
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
elizabethbonesteel.com
I'd change "I would like it to be removed from consideration" to something like "I'm afraid I must remove it from consideration." You're not asking permission; you're informing them the MS is no longer available.

But in general, it sounds perfectly professional.

MS KIKI

Banned
Reaction score
First off, apologies if this is in the wrong forum. Long story short, a small publishing house asked for a full on my MS. Got feedback from one of the editors saying they read and liked it and have passed it onto the other editors to make a final decision. After doing some more research on this house, I’ve decided that we wouldn’t be a good fit for each other. How do I go about sending an email explaining this? I would rather tell them now and not waste their time.