Hello from Holland! New fantasy/scifi/short story writer

Chiara Nova

Registered
Reaction score
Hi! I'm Chiara, I'm 22 years old and I'm from The Netherlands. I have been writing seriously for the past three years. I have always wanted to be a writer, I always said I would be a writer when I grew up, and now I’m finally working on that. When I first started putting my heart and soul into it, I started out with a fantasy novel but I couldn’t get it on paper the way it deserved to be told. So I decided to put it on hold for a while, let it burn slowly in the back of my mind while I work on other things. Those other things are, mainly, short stories.

I read books in a lot of different genres, like fantasy, science fiction, dystopian, thriller, horror and with the occasional contemporary novel thrown in. I write stories in almost all of these genres as well. I want to try as many styles and genres as possible to see what truly fits, and so far, I like writing fantasy and science fiction stories the best. My main problem is actually finishing them, though I have been steadily improving with that :) I hope to get enough experience with the short stories, and finish them, so that I can truly devote myself to my fantasy book. Another problem I've been having with writing is that there are too many ideas and too little time, and it's easy to get distracted by new, shiny things. But, in the end I think it's better to have too many ideas than not having enough ideas.

I used to work in a bookstore, which I loved because nobody gave me funny looks when I got over-enthusiastic about books, but after I graduated from university, I started working as an economic psychologist for a large international company here in The Netherlands. Besides reading and writing, I like playing guitar, painting, bullet journaling, and learning Spanish.