Hiring an entertainment law attorney

Raellic

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.raellic.net
I thought I would post about my experience looking for and finally finding an entertainment lawyer. My need is somewhat unusual in that I need a one-stop-shop who does both music and film, and also fundraising transactions for those areas. Also, I'm a lawyer myself (although I only do litigation, not transactions). I'm willing to spend top dollar on an entertainment lawyer who can handle transactions and, if possible, also introduce me to contacts in his or her network (although I don't say that part...it's understood). I am from Northern California, so I either need someone in L.A. or in the Bay Area.

Month 1: I email several entertainment law firms in L.A. with my need. None of them respond.

Month 2: I call an entertainment lawyer who I know through a professional colleague. She refers me to another firm. I call them and they refer me to yet another firm. The other firm is not interested.

Month 3: I post an inquiry on California Lawyers for the Arts (CLA), which is a referral service. They refer me to a questionable lawyer who charges more than $400 per hour but wants to meet me at a coffee shop because he has no office. I turn that one down and get a new referral from CLA. This one is interested but he has a very money-centric operation and I balk at the substantial deposit requirement and the fact that I have no way to contact him directly.

Month 4: I give up. What it looks like is that entertainment lawyers only take on a client if the lawyer's standing in the industry increases, not the client's!