Reasonable Price for Developmental Editing

Noizchild

Registered
Reaction score
Website
noizchild.neocities.org
Ever since 2015, I have been publishing my books via self-publishing. For my latest book, however, I decided to try and go for a more traditional route in publishing. This is my first time of seeking a professional editor. Up until this point, I have relied on beta readers for my editing. I am look for developmental editing for my upcoming book, Steel Prison. As it stands for the moment, the book has 48,827 words and 109 pages long. I am wishing that it could be longer and maybe make the plot more fluid. This book has been edited several times over the years, the latest one being this month while on vacation. I am looking for one last edit before sending it off to the publishers.

What is the average price that I should aim for a developmental editor?

Sage

Supreme Guessinator
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
If you're looking to publish it in trade publishing, your editors will be paid by the publisher, not by you. While you should polish the book as much as possible and use betas to help you see what you can't see yourself, you don't need to pay an editor before you send it off.

Most trade publishers--at least the ones who will get your book into stores--take submissions through agents, so if that's the route you're looking for, you'll want to send to agents first.

cool pop

It's Cool, Miss Pop if You're Nasty
Registered
Reaction score