• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

I'm Interested in a Variety of Writing Genres... Is this "Normal"?

Rosanna Banana

Registered
Reaction score
So I'm a writing newb, really, but one thing I'm finding is that I'm interested in writing a variety of different genres. So far, I've written several stories that could be turned into children's picture books, I've written a contemporary young adult novel and I'm currently outlining an idea for an adult mystery/thriller. I've also tried my hand at romance, non-fiction writing (related to education; I'm a teacher) and erotica. Is this common or is it weird that I bounce around a lot? I'm just wondering if most successful writers are really focused on one particular kind of writing or if it's typical to try out different genres and see what you're good at?

audibob1

Registered
Reaction score
Yes! That is completely normal! J.K. Rowling, to give you an example, is one of the most successful authors alive today and she's published children's fiction, adult fiction, and screenplays. I myself write both speculative short stories and children's plays. Try your hand at a little of everything and see what you like.

Lakey

professional dilettante
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
I bet it’s not that unusual. I mean, I’m new to fiction as well, but I have had some success as a film critic, and am a pretty good technical writer by profession.

And, especially when you’re new, why wouldn’t you try your hand at different types of writing? You might find you’re good at different things, or enjoy different things; you wouldn’t know until you try.