Fastest Rejection

FJCavallo

Registered
Reaction score
I set a new personal record today — sent out an agent query at 9:43pm last night, and got a form rejection at 10:38am today.

I’ve been tweaking my query on this one for about 2 months, and obviously it needs more work.

I’m told you can put it up here for critique once you’ve hit 50 posts, so eventually I may get there. Until then, if anyone else has a quicker agent-query smack-down (or anything similar to “commiserate” over) I’d love to hear it.

Shoeless

Registered
Reaction score
My top record for a rejection has been five minutes from hitting the "send" button. Must've caught the agent at a really good/bad time, depending on the state of your ego.

pingle

Registered
Reaction score
I've had two very fast replies, within the same day. They were among the first queries I sent out when I had no idea what I was doing. I kind of preferred it, they made me realise that my cover letter needed serious work (I'm presuming they won't have read the fifty pages of the MS I sent in that time anyway).

ChibiUsagi

Banned
Reaction score
12 hours.

"No thanks"

I was 21 at the time and sensitive so it stung. I have thicker skin now so I only cry on the inside. Also that woman has sold nothing of note in the past two year so...:hi: :roll:

RaggyCat

Registered
Reaction score
I sent one about 10pm and had a rejection by 8.30am the next morning sent by a reader. I imagine the agency wasn't looking for the genre I sent them so it was an auto reject.

carrie_ann

Registered
Reaction score
I've had one in about 3 hours. I've halted querying now, but I was sending them in batches of 4. That day it was the second one I sent, by the time I'd finished the fourth I received the rejection from number two. Aside from the obvious, the only thing that annoyed me was I then felt the need to submit another before I finished the day's work.

Niiicola

Twitchy
Registered
Reaction score