BenPanced

THE BLUEBERRY QUEEN OF HADES (he/him)
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
  1. Self-pub your m/m novel on Amazon.
  2. Let it percolate.
  3. Create a pseudonym.
  4. Take the m/m novel from step 1 and change the pronouns to female.
  5. Take the above novel and change the names to female.
  6. Congratulations! You've just written a f/f novel!
  7. Self-pub your f/f novel on Amazon.
  8. Let it percolate.
  9. Create another pseudonym.
  10. Take the f/f novel from step 7 and change one of the characters back to male.
  11. Congratulations! You've just written a m/f novel!
  12. Self-pub your m/f novel on Amazon.
  13. Watch the numbers roll in!
  14. Just hope nobody notices.

Pterofan

Trust me, I'm a writer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.pterosnest.blogspot.com
If you're going to turn m/m into f/f, you'll need to change a lot more than just the names. Otherwise you're liable to end up with scenes like "Moira sucked Felicia's humongous c*ck into her mouth while her fingers caressed Felicia's b*lls." Unless you're writing SF or fantasy, where that would work.

Somebody actually got away with this?

frimble3

Heckuva good sport
Registered
Reaction score
According to the link in the OP, yeah. And they were merely a variation on another attempt. And they may not be alone.
Thank you, BenPanced!

Lakey

professional dilettante
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
You could do fascinating social experiments by having different groups of people read and rate the different versions of these books. Analogous to experiments where the same resume is sent to hiring managers with names that signal different sexes, races, etc. (Never mind the enormous cost of getting a large enough sample of people to participate in a study that requires them read an entire book; it's interesting to think about!)

WGough

Registered
Reaction score