Hello! I am not sure what to do, and would like to humbly request for advice.

pomegranatetears

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.persophene.proboards70.com
I'm not good at asking for help, but am doing so because I am completely at a loss as to what to do next. So, here it goes. I wrote a novel. I was actually going to shelve this novel because it's a zombie novel and I wasn't for sure if that's even a thing anymore, but I read it to my students and they discussed, analyzed, begged for more, etc. I even had multiple students tell me that they loved my book because they could "see it in their head" and they've never been able to do that before.
This made me think that maybe this story will be of interest to others, or at the very least I ought to give it a shot.

Except. How? Do I try to find an agent or do I self publish? How do I even find an agent? How does one even begin to self publish and build an effective audience? I had been moving away from social media, forums, the internet over the past five years, but am realizing that I probably need to keep up with it if I want to be successful. But, how do I do that?

Any help would be appreciated, even if it's pointing me to another site or whatnot.

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I am not the expert many others here are, but I got here first, so nah-nah on them.

Your next step is to get feedback from people who do not know you or like you.

Once you reach 50 posts, you put your novel's first 1500 words or so up for critique at the appropriate SYW (Share Your Work) forum, password vista. The very best way to reach 50 posts is to talk writing with others and to do critiques for others. Both will be learning experiences.