Newbie looking for support, advice and a chance to hone my editorial skills

Lady Fox

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, I'm Lady Fox and I'm a writer - or at least I'm trying to be. I have (almost) finished my first novel. Draft 6 is 50% polished to perfection (my current level of perfection anyway) but I fear I still have much to learn and that the novel could be better. I've done query letters and synopses (both of which I am terrible at) and have committed the cardinal sin of sending out to lit agents before the 100% polish is complete. I've had rejections - 9 so far - and though it stings I'm very much aware it's all part of the process and it's a subjective business blah blah blah - still hurts though. Currently I'm working hard to polish the last half of the book and while I wait for the rest of the rejections to pour in have decided to join this lovely forum and try to improve what little skill I have (do I sound whiny now? Sorry - not feeling sorry for myself - honest!), swap stories, ideas and knowledge, learn all that I can and give back where I can. I'm very much looking forward to meeting you all, reading your lovely stories and soaking up some much needed advice.

LFx

Denevius

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Nine rejections isn't bad, honestly, but further narrative and prose polishing is always a good idea.

Nice to have you here, Lady Fox, and welcome to AW!

Chase

It Takes All of Us to End Racism
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Lady,

As Denevius said, you don't have a boatload of rejections yet. While you may have jumped the gun with submissions a tad, it's all an ongoing process, and you can continue polishing until your next submissions.

Not to get bogged down in terms--especially since we write different forms of the same language--but you're revising rather than editing.

When you've revised and polished your manuscript to the best of your ability, you may want to find at least one beta-reader or critique partner and then revise again.