Any disadvantage to self publishing a first book if hoping to traditionally publish later books?

Woollybear

Registered
Reaction score
People say it takes a few years to get up to speed on being a good writer. Maybe not for everyone, maybe for some people more than others, and I'm guessing that's me, too. And then I see people talking about trunking their first novel, sometimes saving the ideas in it for later works.

OK, Here's my question. I know I'm on a learning curve, which I like a lot, and also I know that I will want to move on to my second book soon, as soon as I am not learning on this first book anymore. It's planned to be the first in a trilogy. It's a complete story, just not as good as it would be if I was a better writer.

In the near future, when I fail to get an agent or publisher, because of the amateur writing, what is the drawback (if any) of self pubbing the first book, then working on the second ... presumably with better chops?

Then, when I query the second book, which is planned as the second in a trilogy, could the publisher (because I will be wildly successful querying etc at that point :) ) be able to also pick up the first book?

Seems like this could work, but people often trunk their first novels. I don't want to do that. Why not self-publish then get to work on book number two and continue on that learning curve?

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
People say it takes a few years to get up to speed on being a good writer. Maybe not for everyone, maybe for some people more than others, and I'm guessing that's me, too. And then I see people talking about trunking their first novel, sometimes saving the ideas in it for later works.