Things just got serious

SimonTemplar

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all, glad to be here, but I have to say that I hate writing. So if I can admit I hate to write why can't I just live a peaceful life with a normal job, spending time with my kids, and petting my dog? Why is that such a difficult thing to have sink into my stubborn mind? *sigh* My brain just can't stop the ideas. To make matters worse, despite my best efforts to be a software engineer, the fact that I have a degree in English and can sling a sentence together means I'm a technical writer everywhere I go. I'm coming to accept it now. I even accidentally fell into being a 'professional writer' by selling a tech book--I can't even remember the title which is embarrassing when it comes up in conversation. It actually taunts me in a way because what I really want to do is write SF/fantasy. I feel 'dirty' because I published the 'wrong' thing =)

Well, I blame my grandma (who wants to blame grandma?) because she was an award-winning journalist and infected me at an early age. I actually won a state competition in 2nd grade--do you know how depressing it is to think that you peaked at age 7? So it's time to get serious. Grandma, (yes, the same grandma) who is now 93 just told me to do her a 'big' favor and send her my short story when I get published. I have no idea how long she has left...I guess I better get my butt in the chair. I'm going to need help so thanks in advance!

p.s. Am I the only one that has panic attacks about grammar/punctuation? I seriously can't remember any of that being taught in public school. My aversion to writing should not be due to panic attacks while attempting to use commas.

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
:welcome:

Take some time and read the Newbie Guide and the Stickies found
at the top of Forum pages. They are your best guide to learning about
Absolute Write.