expanding a story from within

flowerburgers

New Fish; Learning About Thick Skin
Registered
Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm in touch with an agent who liked my short story collection and asked me to send her a novel of at least 60,000 words so that she can have something more marketable to pair it with. I tend to write shorter fiction, but I'm almost done with the first draft of a long novella (on pace to be around 45,000 words) that I can envision expanding. Does anyone have advice for how to comb through a shorter work and find windows to open? I'm excited about this! Novels trip me up, but I think I can do it.

DanielSTJ

The Wandering Bard
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Hi flowerburgers!

I just thought I'd chime in! : D

So, I'm just an amateur, but I think if you look at the portions of your story that you really like then you can consider expanding them. Additionally, perhaps you can link them together to form a bigger cohesive plot. Another idea is to find the less developed portions of your stories and add the meat to the grinder, if you know what I mean! Yet another idea is to take another full idea, separate from your story, and try to combine it with the one that you have in order to spruce up the meadow and then open more windows and avenues for you to explore.

These are just some ideas. I hope more people will post about this soon to give you some more input. I'm sure there are many ways to do this.

Hopefully, this sparks an idea or something for you.

Cheers!

MAS

Registered
Reaction score
Is there a secondary character whose role can be expanded via a subplot that complements the main plot?

Sonsofthepharaohs

Still writing the ancient Egyptian tetralogy
Registered
Reaction score