• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

[Collaborative] WriteALong

Harro

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

My name is Harro, I’m from Amsterdam in The Netherlands, I just finished a short creative writing course and I was very surprised about how enjoying it actually is. Other than doing the writing course I absolutely lack any creative writing experience.

Although I am interested in writing stories, I don't like the idea of doing it all alone with just me and my computer. I studied Industrial design and I’m used to work in teams on developing new products. I believe that when people work together, they are able to achieve much more than when they are working alone. They are able to inspire each other with their ideas and views and are able to help each other out. Therefore, the result of such a collaboration is likely to be of a better quality than when it's only one person working on it. (Or he/she must be a genius)

I’m also a big fan of concepts such as open source, crowdsourcing and crowdfunding (for example; Wikipedia, Drupal, Linux, Kickstarter, etc.) That's why I've decided to build a website which should facilitate large groups of people to collaborate on writing stories together. I know I’m not supposed to post any website links here so I won't. (You can always ask me directly if you're interested)

There already are some websites which enable people to write together, most of them enable 1 person to start off a story with chapter 1 and other people can write chapter 2 and so on. This is cool, but I don’t think such a process could ever result in coherent stories of high quality, with meaning and underlying connections. So, my idea is to first start off with short, abstract and vague ideas and to gradually evolve them into elaborate and complex stories step by step guided by the collective opinion and creativity of all the participating co-writers. This is somewhat similar to how I’ve learned how to develop a new product.