Novel: Humor and Foul Language

Cochinay

Registered
Reaction score
Am I rowing upstream if I pitch a novel (short, about 42,000 words) targeting a younger audience, a comedy, and containing a good number of four letter words spoken by my college aged main characters? I'm new at this, still, and learning, so the question may be naive, but I'm getting nervous about approaching agents who may take offense. On the receiving line, I could see possible issues, and maybe I'm already in trouble with the genre and the "novella" length. Any thoughts about agents being turned off or offended may help, though, quite frankly, scoring a hit on a query is for me already no easy task.

CameronJohnston

Great Old One
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cameronjohnston.net
Agent's usually won't be offended by foul language but if it's aimed at a younger audience then I think you are probably in trouble by including certain swear words - parents tend to take a dim view of swearing in children's books. An agent would be more likely to want you to choose different words than reject you outright because of that however, though it does speak to your familiarity with the age-appropriate novels. It also depends on what age group you are targeting. If it's the younger ones then I would say swearing is a no-go. If it's older YA you *might* be fine with a few but not a good number, but then your word-length is probably too low. More research is needed I think, or input from people more familiar with current YA than I am.

be frank

not a bloke, not named frank
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.lanifrank.com
One potential problem with this:

If it's the younger ones then I would say swearing is a no-go. If it's older YA you *might* be fine with a few but not a good number, but then your word-length is probably too low.

is this:

college aged main characters