Established Relationships in Romance

thereeness

Registered
Reaction score
Friends! Fellow authors! My first thread is here and I come to you with a burning question:

How do y'all feel about starting a story where the characters are already in an established relationship?

This is something I've been wrestling with for a while because I'm not that good at romantic subplots. Heck, I'm probably the most critical of the romantic subplot in YA stories (and even in some adult novels) because it's always read, to me, as trite and formulaic. Boy Meets Girl/Girl Meets Boy, Boy/Girl Despises Girl/Boy, Boy and Girl Trade Banter and Argue a Lot, then THEY KISS AND IT'S AWESOME. I dislike this trope for a number of reasons, but my top one is this: two people in a relationship, imo, should AT MINIMUM start out by liking each other. Even just a little bit. Relationships based on pointy barbs, dislike, betrayal, etc. just don't feel like they would work.

The amount of books I've read that has this kinda subplot is...Too many, we'll put it that way.

So, I thought about starting my novel with a pair of characters who are already in a relationship and, instead of the romantic subplot being the building of the relationship, it could focus more on how a couple deals with crisis moments together. How they overcome the monsters and sleepless nights and will they succeed in their mission (I write fantasy, so monsters are a thing) and stuff like that. I, personally, find that more interesting, kind of like Rick and Eve from the Mummy 2 handling being adventurers when they've got a kid in tow.

What do you guys think? Any input would be awesome, thanks so much!

Marian Perera

starting over
Registered
Reaction score
Heaven is a place on earth called Toronto.
Website
www.marianperera.com
How do y'all feel about starting a story where the characters are already in an established relationship?

I'm fine with this as long as the story is not labelled a romance.