Greetings from a Newbie!

clangan

Registered
Reaction score
Howdy everyone! My name is Chris and I am a newbie.

I live and breathe science fiction! There are two types of sci-fi: Stories that I have thoroughly enjoyed and stories I have not read/watched/consumed yet. You know how some people are either rabid Star Wars or Star Trek fans? I’m the guy who has room in his heart for both AND Babylon 5!

Previously, I was a social worker. I learned that I am not built for that kind of work, so I turned to writing. I flailed about at first, but after a successful video game writer pointed me towards On Writing by Stephen King, I found my groove.

I remain unpublished, but I have 3 short stories ready to go and several more in the hopper (see also: my head).

There aren’t many people I know who share my enthusiasm for writing, so it’s very nice to have discovered an entire community of like-minded folks. I look forward to chatting it up with you!

Also, I am a giant. 6’7”. An inch taller than Michael Jordan. Irrelevant info, but fun to point out.

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
:welcome:

Take some time and read the Newbie Guide and the Stickies found
at the top of Forum pages. They are your best guide to learning about
Absolute Write.

Stop by the Weekend Progress Report each week to brag about your weekly writing accomplishments.
Awesome smilies and awards are given each week.

Please read the FAQ about posting photos.

In fact we have lots of brilliant FAQs check them out.

Members who want to start a thread in Share Your Work to have work critiqued need
50 posts. Don’t make a mad dash to reach your 50 posts. That is frowned upon and can lead to your posts being deleted.
Take some time to greet fellow newbies, critique other members’ works, or join a discussion.

Announcements, Events and Self Promotion is for active members only. All obvious spam will be deleted on sight!
Here’s how to Promote With Aplomb.