Writing a Novella

SaifTheWriter

Registered
Reaction score
Hi

So I've decided to write a Novella. Except...I've never written short fiction before. I'm currently also writing a novel, my novella is based on the world I've created in my Novel (Futuristic London).

So...tips for writing novellas would be hugely helpful.

Also how do I go about publishing this? Should I do it traditionally knowing that my later novels will ideally be published traditionally too or should I self publish as this is simply a novella and not my main novel?

Thanks in advance

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
It's very, very difficult to get a novella trade published - which I expect is what you mean by 'traditionally' published. I would focus on the main work, and plan to self-pub the novella.

ETA: What a load of old cobblers this is. Honestly! Do try to keep up, mccardey...

Last edited:

SaifTheWriter

Registered
Reaction score
It's very, very difficult to get a novella trade published - which I expect is what you mean by 'traditionally' published. I would focus on the main work, and plan to self-pub the novella.

Thanks, this is helpful. Yes I do mean that.

tnfalpha

Registered
Reaction score
Novellas are an excellent form. I think a great place to start is by reading them (but that's probably self-evident lol). Since your writing spec fic, you should check out Tor.com - they are a big name in the novella market. As an aside, they sometimes, very rarely, take unsolisted/unagented novella subs but would probably take 10,000 years to respond.

I want to write novellas in the future, so am also interested to see what others have to say on the matter.

Best of luck!

audibob1

Registered
Reaction score