Hey there!

redheadedgremlin

Registered
Reaction score
I'll be honest - I have never been a part of a legit writing group before, and more so a group of any kind that was this huge. In my freshman and sophomore years of college I did join a small creative writing group, but their focus was poetry, and then the occasional short story here and there to spice up the atmosphere. I found that there was little to no support for those of us working on full length novel projects aside from the occasional, "Hey, neat idea!" That led me to search the internet.

So... here I am. Hello, AbsoluteWrite.

I've been writing since I was about ten years old and the only reason it started was because my teacher had tricked me into it. Before that, I was the kid who hated books. They were never interesting to me and I would have preferred to be doing anything but. This man kept pushing book after book, determined to find at least one that would catch my attention; I don't know why he was so insistent that there was a book out there that would do this but for whatever reason, he would not budge. Each time I would try but it was a dead end. Until this giant teddy bear of a man shoved Inkheart by Cornelia Funke into my tiny little hands.

I finished it in a day. I'm still shocked that I did this, because holy crap-I was ten! For those who have never heard of this book, it's a YA fantasy novel with 500 and some pages of words; the main character, Meggie, and her father have this special ability that I found myself craving to have. When I returned the book to my teacher the next day, I asked if he had the sequel. We had a simple discussion about it because he wanted to know why this book in particular changed my mind. I explained how I wanted to be like Meggie. It would make sense if you read the book and knew the ending, but his answer to that was to hand me a blank piece of paper and say, "Then do it."

From that moment on, I was hooked.