Creative liberties in writing in the current [real] world

xenylic

Advancing to the Castle Age
Registered
Reaction score
This might be an odd/dumb/abstract issue, but let me explain.

So, I'm a SFF YA writer, and I've been writing for years, but 95% is in mystical worlds/centuries in the future or past. However, one of my projects is moving over to the real world (in 2014), and I'm getting stumped very easily on the very small details, worried that because I insert and infer certain elements (in my case New York Comic Con), that I'm not depicting 100% faithfully. I also did some research on who was there at the event (such as Sir Patrick Stewart), and considered having my MC talk briefly with him. Is that okay?

I also have a plot-related conundrum, because at the convention (in my book) a bomb goes off, which obviously never happened in the real life 2014 NYCC. For some reason, this makes me hesitate in writing these things out.

Speaking to more experienced contemporary writers, how accurately do you feel the need to depict real-world events/people in a fictional story?

I'm curious how people deal with these things, because obviously you can't make every aspect on the page true to life without turning it into nonfiction.

Last edited:

Dennis E. Taylor

Get it off! It burns!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
You don't need to stick to reality. Harry Turtledove completely fabricated a new district in L.A. in his Supervolcano series. I completely made up a SF con in Vegas for my Bobiverse series, and made up a number of panel speakers (although one was a tuckerization of Larry Niven).

Sticking real people into your book without their permission might be more of a problem, as might blowing up a real location. There's really no reason to borrow trouble, since very few people will either know or care if you're using fictional people and places.

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score