*taps mic* Um, hi...Is this thing on?

fogisbeautiful

fogisbeautiful
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.fogisbeautiful.com
Hi everyone! I'm Emily, I'm a self-published sci-fi/fantasy writer from Texas, mostly just looking for a place on the internet to hang out and gab with other writers. I've been writing for over 15 years now, starting in fanfiction (which I still write, though not as often) and I've been seriously pursuing my original fiction-writing dreams since 2009 when I started participating in National Novel Writing Month (of which I'm a big advocate). I just published my first book in December, and its done much better than I expected, which I'm very excited about!

Aside from writing, I'm a fangirl of many things (Marvel, Lord of the Rings, Doctor Who, just to name three off the top of my head), and I craft with yarn (crochet, knitting, spinning my own yarn). I have a demon-cat named Layla, two dogs, Bear and Sugar, and an anti-social boyfriend who makes so few appearances in real life that my writing group calls him "the imaginary boyfriend" :p

I'll probably be a lurker for a while, until I get my bearings, but I'm excited to listen in on all the conversations happening around the Water Cooler!

The Urban Spaceman

Existential quandary
Registered
Reaction score
Website
theurbanspaceman.net
Welcome to AW, Emily, and congratulations on your recent success! I attempted NaNo once... even got as far as registering myself an account. Then something shiny rolled by and I got distracted. But it was a fascinating insight into the signing-up process! I also enjoy the reading and the writing of the SFF (though not so much the knitting of the fabrics) so will no doubt see you around the SFF forums in the future.

Enlightened

Always Learning
Registered
Reaction score
:welcome:

SFF writing can benefit with boyfriend's mannerisms.

You found a wonderful community with LOADS of very knowledgeable members.

Chase

It Takes All of Us to End Racism
Kind Benefactor