Parents: what would you do? Child with anxiety

blackcat777

Registered
Reaction score
Because I have no hands-on experience with kids, I would appreciate the perspective, knowledge, and experience of parents here.

In my WIP, there is a child, aged ten, with extreme social anxiety (manifesting with selective mutism). He has to attend a big religious festival Because Tradition. He's attending with his parents and an older sibling. Family dynamic is healthy and supportive.

Parents, what would you do if you had to take an anxious child to a huge event with lots of people? Is there anything you would consider beforehand to prepare? How do you handle the situation effectively as a parent if your kid flips out?

I want to explore the child's attachment dynamics and I have a lot of peer reviewed data dealing with the child's sensory experience, and associated spectrum of behaviors. But I want to realistically fill in the blanks with a focus on the parents' challenges and concerns with integrating a child with an ultra-sensitive temperament into big events that are sometimes an unavoidable part of everyday life.

Thank you!

Last edited:

AwP_writer

Registered
Reaction score
What I think I would do in that situation (things like that are VERY case by case) is split up, the mother and I each take one of the kids, and participate in the festival as suited to each kid. So if I have the one with anxiety, we might hand out near the back where it's less crowded. Now and then we'd probably meet up and trade off. If he flips out you lead him away from the people, and then do whatever the situation calls for to calm him down.

neandermagnon

Nolite timere, consilium callidum habeo!
Registered
Reaction score