• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

Writing Goals Per Week?

Brickcommajason

Registered
Reaction score

Question for the council:

Do you set writing goals for you each week? How much? In what sorts of format (2 hours a day vs. 10 hours per week vs. 10 pages a week vs. a word count, whatever?)

More importantly: what do you do to keep yourself meeting those goals? Is simply setting and writing down those goals sufficient?

Yandiel

Registered
Reaction score
I don't know what you mean by council :poke: ... but I'll respond to this since I just recently got back into my writing from taking a very long break.

I told myself that I wanted to finish a current project/novel of mine which I had been working on for many years off and on. So, I decided, the other day, to try and find some critique partners, to help me along and give myself goals. I don't care if they read my chapter or not, now mind you, I asked for critique partners on a subreddit and who are known to be unreliable with actually "reading" what you give them. What I care about is passing to them completed chapters. So I know if I don't have chapter 5, I better write it because it needs to be critiqued.

But I broke this concept the other day, because I need to rework chapter 1, so I have been focusing on some elements of that.

Last edited:

Ed8350

Registered
Reaction score
I literally write every day. Either a small bit or a larger bit but I just do it. I try not to look at it as a 'goal' either because I feel like it puts pressure on me. I just do it. It's easier, for me at least, that way.

DanMorrison

Registered
Reaction score