Exclusive Revise & Resubmit?!

lamensa

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

First time poster, long time stalker of these message boards.

I'm a YA writer and was offered an exclusive R&R yesterday by what I would call my Dream Agency. The catch is: I started querying a week ago, and I already have 6 full requests (one from the agency who has now offered the R&R), which is obviously very exciting. I did some searches online to try and see what others do in this situation, and haven't found much information, so hoping you all can help me out. I'm a bit nervous to proceed with the exclusive, given that I'd have to pull my full manuscript from all the other agents, and there's no guarantee that those agents would be interested if Dream Agency passes, post-R&R. HOWEVER... I have absolute confidence that whatever notes I was given for the R&R would only help my manuscript...

BUT - would those agents who I pulled my full from (some of whom are absolutely amazing, and who I would be thrilled to sign with!) give me a second chance, if the manuscript didn't end up landing with Dream Agency?

Does anyone have experience with this situation? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Anna Iguana

reading all the things
Registered
Reaction score
First, congratulations! Second, I've never been offered an exclusive R&R, but I have been offered publication while my full manuscript was also with some other small publishers. If I were in your shoes, I'd handle this as an offer. I'd contact the agents who have your full, let them know you've been offered an exclusive R&R, and invite them to get back to you in 7 to 10 days if they also have interest in the manuscript. Meanwhile, I'd make sure I had all the information I needed from the agent offering an exclusive, so that I could make an educated judgment about whether I could do the revision the agent wants in a way that would satisfy us both.