Repeated punches - effects on fists

efreysson

Closer than ever
Registered
Reaction score
I have an idea for a scene where a vampire corners a victim, then toys with him by letting him punch her in the face again and again just to show that he can't hurt her. I'm no martial artist, but I am well aware that our hands aren't designed for impact. How many swings might he be able to make before his hands are a complete mess?

Bufty

Where have the last ten years gone?
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I imagine it would vary from person to person. Is he a labourer with toughened hands, or someone with more tender fingers? Does he put his thumb inside his clenched fingers or not?

A quick question. Assuming his thumb is outside his clenched fist, how dumb is he that it's not until his fists are a mess he doesn't twig his punching her in the face can't hurt her, and he should perhaps try something else?

Last edited:

efreysson

Closer than ever
Registered
Reaction score
A quick question. How dumb is he that he doesn't twig he can't hurt her until his fists are a mess?

Not dumb so much as justifiably terrified for his life.

Raindrop

Registered
Reaction score
I could feel my knuckles for a few days, after punching pads with lighter gloves than usual (8 oz rather than the usual 16 oz) for only a few minutes. I hit really hard for my weight, but I was hitting something much softer than a face (pads). My fingers aren't particularly bulky, so there's that.

Caveat: I'm not a boxer. I.e. I don't do contact boxing, but every now and then, my partner doesn't block properly, so I've landed quite a few punches -- but never in the face, thankfully! I also tend to pull my punches or kicks when I see my partner isn't blocking. It's only make-believe boxing. I'm tempted to try out the real thing at some point, though!