What's your rejection tally for 2017?

flowerburgers

New Fish; Learning About Thick Skin
Registered
Reaction score
This is my first year shooting for one hundred rejections, and I'm pleased to share that I've surpassed my goal! I'm at 127 rejections and five acceptances--to Narrative (x2), Fourteen Hills, Barnstorm, and Reservoir. Really hoping to get acceptance #6 before the end of the year--I have sixty-six pending submissions--but perhaps it's not to be. I'm going for 200 rejections in 2018. It can be done!

I just thought it might be encouraging for everyone to share their numbers. I feel pretty immune to rejections at this point; when I get a letter, tiered or not, I send the journal another story. Keep the faith, guys! Keep submitting! And Merry Christmas :)

zmethos

from words to worlds
Registered
Reaction score
Website
mpepperlanglinais.com
I only had something to query/submit late in the year (October), so my numbers are pretty low. I've sent 26 queries, had 1 offer of rep that fell apart, have since had 1 partial request, 13 rejections, and I'm waiting on the remaining 11.

On the plus side, 2 of the rejections were of the, "Not this book but I'd like to see your next one" variety.

Collie

Registered
Reaction score
Queries Sent: 128
Rejections: 108
Fulls/Partials Requested then Rejected: 12
Still Out: 8

Woollybear

Registered
Reaction score
This is my first year shooting for one hundred rejections, and I'm pleased to share that I've surpassed my goal! I'm at 127 rejections and five acceptances--to Narrative (x2), Fourteen Hills, Barnstorm, and Reservoir. Really hoping to get acceptance #6 before the end of the year--I have sixty-six pending submissions--but perhaps it's not to be. I'm going for 200 rejections in 2018. It can be done!