• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Those of you that don't write every day

TSJohnson

Registered
Reaction score
I do writing marathons. My work has been such for some years now, that I have to work around the clock for months with very little down time, so when ever I get a vacation I just sit down and write. On these holidays I never follow any reasonable bio rhythm either; I sleep when I feel like it and exercise whenever I need a break from writing.

In the beginning I rewrote almost everything every time I started another writing phase, I just felt I couldn't get into the mood without doing it and the old text looked all wrong. Looking back on it, I can surely say that it is the worst way of writing. By far. I've been writing my first novel for several years like that, and when it was close to being ready, I found that I needed to rewrite the whole thing anyway. Would've just been smarter to get the first draft as quickly as possible and rewrite only when it was completely ready. If I'd done the process with a little bit more brain and a little bit less all-over-the-place, I would be writing my third book now. But I've learned that lesson now and it's gonna be a lot easier to go onto future projects from now on. As we say back home, I've paid my school fees and now I'm smarter.

If you don't get to write all the time and you feel difficult to refocus on a certain style or voice, don't do what I did. Just write the darn thing and go back to fix style and voice when you're done with your first draft.