I write freelance. Do I include that as personal fact in my queries?

GypsyLayla

Night Owl
Registered
Reaction score
So I write for a couple of jewelry blogs and get paid for it. Well, I write for one and am starting articles for another. It has absolutely NOTHING to do with my fiction manuscripts, which I co-write with my husband. But it is writing.

My husband and I are starting to query for our first MS, and our second will be ready in January for the same.

So... these will be our debut works. And while I have a BA in English, and I am a former lawyer and wrote contracts for years I am not sure if I should mention the freelance writing?

Thoughts?

ajmartinwrites

Registered
Reaction score
I think you can include this because it shows that you have experience, but I just wouldn't be specific about what genre of freelance writing it is. You could say "I have done freelance writing for x years" and leave it at that. Hope this helps, best of luck!

GypsyLayla

Night Owl
Registered
Reaction score
Hmm, thanks for the response ajmartin, I'll have to think about that for a while. The whole BIO thing gives me hives.

Shoeless

Registered
Reaction score