Stock photography for cover - help?

dennisreynolds

Registered
Reaction score
I'm almost done editing my first erotica story for kindle (woo!) and I'm looking for a cover.

I'm a bit confused though. I've read advice to:
not use faces
no suggestion of nudity
and have a unique cover

But all I see on amazon are shirtless men, scantily clad women, and the same thing over and over. I want my book to stand out - even if that means the cover is "boring".

My first story is boss/employee genre, and I've been looking at free stock photo sites first with not a ton of luck. When I look at paid stock photo sites, the prices seem astronomical (to me at least). I can't seem to find a site that has good shots that you can download individually without paying like $20-30. Other than that, there's subscription.

Am I missing something here? I want my first book to be on a shoe string budget before I invest a ton of money (I'm a student) into a venture that I'm not sure about yet.

Thanks!

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
Using faces is optional, some readers prefer to imagine the face as they wish to.
Some nudity is fine but Amazon does on allow sexual intercourse positions, butt crack, lots of butt cheek, boob including side boob or any hint of genitals.
Unique is best but a cover that combined different stock, or otherwise transforms the stock to a different look, will remain unique even if the shot itself is not.

dennisreynolds

Registered
Reaction score
Ok great cool. Yeah I'd prefer not to risk any skin for not at least. But what do you think of these possible images? Obviously cropped vertical and color corrected. I could use them in a series or sequels or just my niche.

qKbP64cm.jpg

R2BCcGGm.jpg

Last edited:

JDlugosz

Registered
Reaction score
You think 20 to 30 dollars is too high? What kind of return are you expecting?

I think Adobe Stock has deals. Yea, right in the applet, “Get 10 free Adobe Stock images.”