• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

Maybe I only ever had one book in me

Status
Not open for further replies.

Myrealana

I aim to misbehave
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.badfoodie.com
I wrote a book. I've been shopping it around to agents and editors for a few months. I haven't been as diligent in that search as I should be, but I've had some promising nibbles.

In the mean time, the advice has always been to keep writing. Get that next book ready and shop it around as well.

I've been trying to do that. I really have. I've got three distinct ideas. Two of them have been fully outlined and put on note cards. Yet, when I sit down to write, I don't feel the drive to finish like I did with my first book.

My second book got to chapter seven, about 20K words before I decided my whole plot needed to be scrapped in favor of going back to the MC's "origin story."

My third book is now at about 15K words, and while I still feel my plot is strong, I'm stuck. I know where the plot needs to go, but I keep staring at the scene I'm on, waiting for it to gel, and it just doesn't.

I've also got plans to write a sequel to the book I'm shopping around, but I don't want to waste a year on a sequel to a first book that may never sell.

I start to wonder: am I a writer, or am I a person who had one book in them? Am I a one-not-even-a-hit-wonder?

Is this typical after finishing your first book? Will my book-writing mojo return? Is there anything I can do to bring it back? Or should I just stick to short stories and forget about novels?

sideshowdarb

Registered
Reaction score