Is someone willing to comment on my romance subplot?

efreysson

Closer than ever
Registered
Reaction score
I'm nervous about my ability to portray romance, but I went ahead and wrote one into my space opera anyway. I thought maybe I could copy/paste the relevant scenes into a file, and get someone who is into the romance genre to give their thoughts on it. Yes, it's not the same as reading an entire novel, but it's also far less time consuming.

As for the story, it's about a princess in a huge space kingdom, and over the course of a whole lot of action and intrigue she falls in love with her female bodyguard.

Anyone interested?

edutton

Ni. Peng. Neee-Wom.
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an expert in the genre, but I have written an f/f romance... happy to be a quick pair of eyeballs, feel free to PM me.

Paula Davids

Banned
Reaction score
Hi,
Why have a FF romance at the heart of a space-opera? I have been told that it is not easy to sell lesbian literature. It is likely that most of the readers for your space-opera will be hetero and will be uneasy with same-sex relationships, particularly if there is any explicit sex. What do you think? I am in something of a similar bind myself.

Cindyt

Gettin wiggy wit it
Registered
Reaction score
Website
growingupwolf.blogspot.com
Hi,
Why have a FF romance at the heart of a space-opera? I have been told that it is not easy to sell lesbian literature. It is likely that most of the readers for your space-opera will be hetero and will be uneasy with same-sex relationships, particularly if there is any explicit sex. What do you think? I am in something of a similar bind myself.

Oops.

Marian Perera

starting over
Registered
Reaction score
Heaven is a place on earth called Toronto.
Website
www.marianperera.com