Defamation of a celebrity

Allison

Registered
Reaction score
I have two questions about defamation liability. If I'm quoting what another person said
about someone -- am I still liable for it?

If the negative quotes are about a celebrity who already has a reputation
for being crazy and difficult to work with...does that lessen the risk I'm taking
in publishing them?

Siri Kirpal

Swan in Process
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Sat Nam! (Literally "Truth Name"--a Sikh greeting)

First, you need to get permission to quote the other person.

Second, I'm not sure that you would be liable for passing along what the other person said, but I'm not a lawyer. You'd be wise to get an expert opinion, not an off-the-internet opinion.

Blessings,

Siri Kirpal

Unimportant

No COVID yet. Still masking.
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
To the best of my knowledge: if you publish it, you are liable for it and are considered just as responsible as the person from whom the statement originated. The only exception would be if the original statement came from a source, such as an official police report, that is protected under a legal act - but that will vary from country to country.

WeaselFire

Benefactor Member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I have two questions about defamation liability.

1) Ask a lawyer. Preferably the one who will defend you if needed.

2) If you're writing for Rolling Stone, ignore the first answer.

:)

Jeff

Twick

Registered
Reaction score
Laws about defamation vary from country to country, so it's not an easy question to answer. In general, even if you're quoting another person, the statement should appear such that a reasonable person could believe it was true. If Joe the Wino tells you that the Kim Kardashian is a shapeshifting alien, and you publish that as if you believe it to be true, that could be defamation.

You'd need at least one other source for confirmation :evil.

noirdood

Registered
Reaction score