Intro to twitter as an author?

LLRye

Registered
Reaction score
As a 27-year-old, I just set up my first twitter profile around a week ago, and I have no idea what I'm doing. I've never used the platform before, but I made a profile for two main reasons: It's nice to have access to a steady feed of world news, and I've been told repeatedly that as an author you kinda need one for promotion and so on. I'm still working on my first manuscript, but apparently sooner is better than later, so I took the jump.

I'm aware of how hashtags work, more or less. I write something I want to share, and then add hashtags so that people who search on that hashtag can see them. Similarly, I can search on specific hashtags and see posts relevant to the subject. So far, so good.

I just don't know what to actually do on twitter. I see people share tacky quotes and make mundane updates about their day, but that just seems so... meaningless, to be honest. Of course, there are a bunch of people who churn out quality content on their blogs, vlogs and what have you. Obviously, it's a good place to market all of that. And once you've gathered a following, I bet it's a great place to promote your (eventual) book, but how am I supposed to build a following if I have no idea what to say?

I've heard of some weekly 'contests' like #1linewed or #meta4mon, and I could definitely share something there, but what do I do on #amwriting, #writerslife, #writing and so on? Who cares if I just finished another chapter or if I've sat down with my manuscript for five hours without producing the 1.000 words I'd set as a goal?

Also, how do I find out what something like #ASMSG or #1K1H means? Hell, I'm not even sure whether it's possible to follow hashtags or I need to do a new search each time.

I feel completely clueless, and I could really use a newbie guide. Do any of you have any advice? Or know of a blog post on the subject or something?

randi.lee

Certified Non-Genius
Registered
Reaction score